14/09/2012

My Answers…*

Posted in General, Musings tagged , , , , , at 2:37 pm by The Water Bearer

In a recent post I explained how I adored our office white board and its ‘Life changing question of the week’. In it I shared a few of the questions which we have been asked and hoped some of you would join in. I was so blessed to find that a fellow blogger had dedicated a post to answering one of these questions. I admire the story she shared to capture her answer. You can read her wonderfully creative vision here… One return-trip in a time machine.

I thought it only fair that I give you a couple of my own answers and an idea of the answers from those who I share my days with…

*Would you willingly give up your arms, if you knew you would grow wings in their place?

My Answer – “I would keep my arms and wait for heaven, where I hope to have both arms and wings”. 😉

Most of the staff agreed to keep their arms, they liked the independence and their usefulness. One young guy said he would take the wings and become famous enough to pay others to do everything he could no longer do while he flew around all day! Hahaha

*Would you give up sleep, if you knew you would never get tired again?

One thing you should know about me and sleep is that I need it! Even if I’m full of energy, I need sleep. I am like an Energizer Bunny, full of nervous energy, I have been known to just keep going, and often at extreme speeds! This leads to high levels of adrenaline coursing through my veins and that puts excess stress on the heart. Sleep gives my busy, flighty brain a chance to unwind, (so long as I’m not having one of my nights of vivid dreams). I have learned over years to do some meditation and relaxation techniques before trying to get to sleep. This gives my body the peaceful rest it requires and makes it easier to get up in the morning. Beside I love my comfy bed and comfy pillows, I love the weight of my heavy quilt covering me like a safety blanket. I like resting my heavy head and giving my weak neck a much needed break.

So ‘No’ I would not give up sleep, even if I never got tired again. Most of the staff enjoyed sleep too much to give it up also. The guy with the wings said he would also give up sleep, feeling it wasted time he could spend more productively….probably flying 😉

*If you had to be on a deserted island with anyone, other than your partner, for 12 months who would you choose?

Some chose celebrities, some chose a survival expert such as Bear Grylls or MacGyver, I chose Jesus… We’ve all heard of the multitude of gifts He has. He is an amazing fisherman, He can bring water from a stone, turn rocks into bread, water into wine, or as my friend suggested, He could part the sea so we could walk off the island whenever we wanted 😉 Then there is the added bonus of course to be able to simply sit in His presence, hearing His voice… Listening to His wisdom falling over me like warm rain….

I enjoyed sharing a few of my answers with you and I hope you check out the amazing answer from my blogging friend at the start of this post. Blessings to you all and remember to keep connecting with questions.

5 Comments »

  1. (smiling) Thanks for sharing some of your answers. This guy who would give up his arms and sleep must be an interesting fellow! hahaha. I like your deserted island answer. Thank you so much for mentioning my post. 🙂

    Like

    • He is very unique. 🙂 He makes us laugh and is a lovely guy. Thank you for your wonderful answer, it was awesome. 🙂

      Like

  2. graciehill48 said,

    Then there is the added bonus of course to be able to simply sit in His presence, hearing His voice… Listening to His wisdom falling over me like warm rain…. This statement brought a response from deep within my soul. What a privilege it would be…

    Like

  3. very interesing and thought provoking. I like your answers especially the island one. I would choose Jesus too. He is all I need:)

    Like


Please share your thoughts below...

