26/11/2012

Gaining Help from Above – Security*

Posted in Encouragement, Finding Faith, Self-Awareness tagged , , , , , , at 8:57 am by The Water Bearer

                                                            linus

Right back to my youngest memory, the theme of my life seemed to revolve around a panicked hunger for security. I was very fearful in my youth, I sucked my thumb until I was an adult, but I haven’t yet mentioned my security blanket. A pillowcase in fact.

There was no chance, no how, no way for me to go to sleep without it, EVER! Up until age 23, yes you read that right, 23! I was consumed by the feeling of the selvedge tickling the webbing between each finger as I sucked on my thumb, distracting me from my fears, feeling a wave of comfort wash over me as I held it over my head and let it lightly drift over my face, back and to. I will never forget how much I relied upon that simple piece of cloth, how it called out to me in moments of loneliness, boredom, sadness, fear and exhaustion. I swore to all who knew me that I would never give it up, that I wanted my pillowcase placed alongside me in my coffin. Even death felt less of a concern as long as I knew I had my beloved ‘Pillowcase’ to help me through.

You could say it would have to be some kind of miracle for me to become willing to let it go.

When my Dad taught me some of the many things about having faith and moving closer to God, he spoke a lot of fear. Not so much about fearing God or what punishment may come for sin, like I had heard so much of in church, but more of the irrational fears which our inner enemies use to handicap us throughout life and pollute our faith. He encouraged me to seek out God and put my trust in Him in all of my times of fear, to pray for comfort, to read scriptures reminding me of God’s strength and protective nature, of His abundant love.

“The LORD your God is in your midst, a mighty one who will save; he will rejoice over you with gladness; he will quiet you by his love; he will exult over you with loud singing”. Zeph 3:17
A few months into my ‘new’ relationship with both my Dad and God, I took a trip to visit my Sister, of course I took my pillowcase, I never went anywhere without it! My Sister had another guest staying with her during this time. This was someone I had never met before and I was told that he had been going through a difficult time.

One day I had been watching movies on her lounge, I had my pillowcase shoved under the cushion and played with it, letting it relax me as I watched. Later that night I was heading off to bed and couldn’t find it, I started to panic. I thought back through the day to when I had it last, and recalled the movie. I rushed into the lounge room only to find her other guest asleep on the couch. I tried to look under the cushion, which He was now resting his head on, but it wasn’t there. I assumed it must have moved somewhere underneath him and so, in the most juvenile fashion, I woke him up and told him he was lying on something of mine which I needed. He got up and I proceeded to turn the lounge upside down in search of my precious pillowcase! I know, I know, and to make matters worse it wasn’t even there! The look on his face was so humiliating, but I could not see myself past my outrageous irrational fear!

I ended up finding it in the wash basket along with the rest of the dirty washing, and got quite a stern talking to from my brother-in-law about how childish I was, and how rudely I had treated their guest. I defended myself in anger at his accusation. I was after all, a mother who had been looking after herself for 5 years, and I did not like what he was insinuating.

As I drifted off to sleep that night, pillowcase in hand, I felt some shameful conviction fill my heart and I knew this had to stop. The next day I apologised and confessed my fear, I told them all that I was going to put my security in God’s hands from then on, and I took my pillowcase and set it alight in front of everyone. I also gave up sucking my thumb that day as well.

“In peace will I both lay me down and sleep; For thou, Jehovah, alone makest me dwell in safety.” Psalms 4:8 (ASV)

This event made a huge impact on my faith, learning to put my safety in God’s hands rather than a silly pillowcase, took my faith to new levels. For the first time in my life I felt free from my irrational fears. Amen!

Making an effort to feel safe in God’s arms, in all our times of fear, is another step to gaining help from above. It shows God that you trust Him and therefore He can show you how faithful He is to keeping us safe and in combat of fear.

“Behold, I will bring to it health and healing, and I will heal them and reveal to them abundance of prosperity and security”. Jer 33:6 (ESV)

This is the 3rd post in the series ‘Gaining Help from Above’, which follows on from ‘Connection’,  and ‘Accepting an Encounter’. If you are just stumbling upon this series, you may want to track back to the start. Here is the link to the next post in this series. I hope you are blessed by them.

15 Comments »

  1. graciehill48 said,

    The Lord bless this post and bring it to those who need its message, I pray. Letting go of fears that cripple us is crucial to a life that he promises, abundant life released within His care and keeping. God bless you.

    Like

  2. Bird said,

    Hi, Water Bearer. I nominated you for an award:

    http://birdmartin.wordpress.com/2012/11/26/blog-of-the-year-2012/

    Hope you accept it!

    Love, Bird

    Like

    • Thank you so much Bird, This is a lovely honour. What a blessing you are to me 🙂 Sending many prayerful blessings your way.

      Like

  3. Kayla Gulick said,

    It’s a little funny because of our 4 kids, to were thumb suckers (we just broke them 6 months ago at 7 & 5 1/2), one uses a “rag” and the last uses a pillowcase!

    Thank you so much for sharing your vulnerability in this way. Insecurity and fear are a couple of nasty traps and your testimony to overcome with Christ is beautiful and a blessing to us who have the chance to read it.

    Like

    • Thank you for sharing that Kayla. 🙂 This story now seems like a lifetime ago. Yet as I write this series I am traveling back to a time when I lived a lifetime full of fear, without the protection and peace that developing my faith has brought me. I hope all who read this can overcome the crippling fears that inner enemies use to limit the power of God in their lives. Blessings to you and your kids, who are much braver than I was. 🙂

      Like

  4. […] from the beginning – ‘Connection‘, ‘Accepting an Encounter’, and ‘Security’. Blessings to you […]

    Like

  5. […] ‘Gaining Help from Above’. Previous posts include, Connection, Accepting and Encounter, Security, and Control. Keep an eye out for more posts to come, Blessings to […]

    Like

  6. […] Help from Above’. Check out the previous posts Connection, Accepting an Encounter, Security, Control & Nourishment, if you haven’t already, and keep watch for future posts in this […]

    Like

  7. […] Rejection” recently and it was exactly what I needed to read. I have been working on my insecurities for well over a decade, from when I first began to let God have a hand in my life. It is not an […]

    Like

  8. […] kindness I would like to, without this subconscious fear poisoning my reactions. I have had some ridiculous fears in my lifetime, and as I have come to recognise each one in turn I have handed them over into […]

    Like

  9. Reblogged this on Inner Angels & Enemies and commented:

    We all experience fear at times, many are irrational, many are justified. This post reminds us that out security is with the Lord, putting our fears into His hands is a sure way to gain help from above. Enjoy

    Like

  10. You are precious (and I mean in the rare jewel way…sparkling in the crown of the Lord). Thank you for sharing this.

    Like

  11. […] Obviously there is much width and depth to the subject of gaining help from above, which is why I need a series of posts to write about it, and why many people spend a lifetime devoted to gaining a better understanding of God and building an intimate relationship with Him. These steps I am mentioning throughout this series, are some of the basic foundations from which to build faith from, and here is the link to the next post…. […]

    Like


Please share your thoughts below...

