09/12/2012

Gaining Help from Above – Worship*

Posted in Encouragement, Finding Faith, Musings, Self-Awareness tagged , , , , , , , , at 8:48 pm by The Water Bearer

praise

Some thoughts to ponder as we venture towards the end of this current series…..

I wonder what marvels God would bring into our lives, if we ceased taking credit for our accomplishments or talents, if we stopped overlooking God’s input in an opportunity or a blessing, if we stopped giving His glory to all other things? Or if we refused to doubt God during times of struggle.

Our talents, creativity, skills, fortitude, patience, capacity for knowledge or love, perseverance, logic, wisdom, beauty or success…are they simply a by-product of human supremacy?

Can we truly take ownership of these things?  Can we tribute genetics or luck?

For those of us in pursuit of God’s help, some serious recognition needs to be given to Him in appreciation. When we lift up God’s name and give Him credit for ALL blessings and achievements, we give Him more and more opportunities to intervene in our lives, bringing not only blessings, but miracles!

I am not a writer, I have no experience, no degree. I didn’t even read much in adolescence through to my early adult years. Writing was not something I even knew I was passionate about until recently. God called me to write for Him over a decade ago, and at times I have thought either He’s cracked or I am! I won’t take any credit for anything I write because I know it was not from any ability or desire within me. Glory be to God!

I am still surprised if I succeed at a difficult shot in billiards, even though I have been playing reasonably well since I was a teenager. I am not consistent enough, I have not gotten much ‘better’ through training and practice. “You have a good eye” they say. Did I do something to achieve a good eye? He is the potter, I am the clay!

There are countless other examples, and I can’t take the credit, it is not mine to take.

God alone deserves praise for all things, too many more to name. Am I suggesting we have a spirit of low self-esteem? Absolutely not! We see our worth when we see ourselves through God’s eyes, with love and respect for the creation that we are, His creation.

However, lifting up ourselves and our name only gives us vanity and a false sense of security. It makes God smaller, it takes away His influence in our daily walk. Lifting up the name of anyone other than God breeds pride, idolatry and jealousy. God is the only one worthy of all our praise.

The enemy was thrown out of heaven for demanding to be worshiped for the power and beauty that was given to him by GOD! Do we want to be included with those who take His glory away and give it to another? Yet in our human mindset, we do it so often.

How about all the things we take for granted everyday, oxygen to breath, water to drink, healthy food, comfy dry beds, friends & family, health, the ability to laugh…

We need to become more aware of the words that come from our lips, for the power of life and death is in the tongue. We can use our mouths to whine and whinge, to gossip or flatter, to curse or slander. Or we can use our tongues to speak of faith and the truth of salvation, to be grateful and encourage others, to praise the Lord and worship. This is a daily struggle for many of us, myself included…

Let’s make it up to Him as much as we can. Let us praise HIS MIGHTY NAME! LORD LORD! Grab some CD’s with lyrics of praise and sing as if He is the only one listening. Lift up our arms to the sky in gratitude. Tell those in our company how awesome He is, for if we testify His name to others, so will He testify our name in Heaven. Thank Him daily for all His blessings. Be in awe of His omnipotence and let that awe seep deep within our hearts!

“But the hour is coming, and is now here, when the true worshipers will worship the Father in spirit and truth, for the Father is seeking such people to worship him. God is spirit, and those who worship him must worship in spirit and truth.” John 4:23-24 (ESV)

You are sure to enjoy this fabulous track …Come let us sing by Sons of Korah

worship

I hope you are enjoying the series and gaining some ground in your relationship with our Lord. Just writing it is reinforcing my own walk, so thank you for letting me share it here. Here is the link to the final post in this series. Blessing to all!

17 Comments »

  1. George Hayward said,

    Had worship music on while I read this! 🙂 Great post, God does deserve praise for everything!

    Like

  2. I recently wrote about bitternes and the the pride that is at the root of it in our hearts… that same pride that locks our ability to forgive also blocks our willingness to give God glory for anything…it steals from our hearts what only belongs to the Lord, and we don’t even realize it!!! Thanks for allowing the Lord to use you to write for Him. This has blessed my heart this evening!

    Like

    • Hi there Joyfullysubmitted, I completely agree, bitterness is poison we drink expecting it to hurt the one who hurt us….It only pollutes us and our relationship with the Lord. We need soft hearts, not hard ones. Thank you so much for the reblog and for dropping by to comment. I will pop over and read your post too. 😉 Blessings to you!

      Like

  3. Reblogged this on Joyfully Submitted and commented:
    I recently wrote about bitternes and the the pride that is at the root of it in our hearts… that same pride that blocks our ability to forgive also blocks our willingness to give God glory for anything…it steals from our hearts what only belongs to the Lord, and we don’t even realize it!!!

    Like

  4. Rejoycin said,

    Thank you, you have motivated me this afternoon- Denise

    Like

  5. Dilip said,

    This is a beautiful tribute to the Almighty. When we get success we must remember it was possible only because God made it possible. Anything and everything is only due to His grace. Imagine we cannot even lift our hand or walk on our own His blessings are always needed.

    Thank you my friend for your divine thoughts which spread peace and joy to all.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for reading and leaving such a kind comment. I wish it was as easy to perform every minute as it is to read the words and be moved by them. God gave me them to write, but they are for my benefit too. Blessings to you!

      Like

  6. Reblogged this on Inner Angels & Enemies and commented:

    I find it so strange to read posts like this, posts that I wrote, yet I have forgotten to apply these principles in my daily life. I hope reading it gives you the same encouragement and thoughtful reminder as it has me. Blessings to you!

    Like

  7. Gigi said,

    Great post! Thank you for sharing your heart 🙂

    Like

  8. I do that too. I often forget to follow my own advice and then I look back and think, “What a good idea.” 😉

    Like

    • Thanks Kristin..I think you have lots of good ideas and alas I forget to apply most of them too. Lol. Thank the Lord it’s all written down for us to go back to. 😉 Blessings to you!

      Like

  9. optimisticgladness said,

    So encouraging! What a great reminder.

    Like

    • I’m so glad you got some good from this post. Thank you for your encouragement also. Blessings to you!

      Like

  10. […] Accepting an Encounter, Security, Control & Nourishment, if you haven’t already, and here is the link to the next post in this […]

    Like


Please share your thoughts below...

