03/07/2013

Being Authentic

Posted in Finding Faith, Self-Awareness at 9:23 am by The Water Bearer

This article has some very interesting truths about self-awareness, I simply had to share.

A disciple's study

from The Daily Encounter blog

“But the Lord God called to the man [Adam], ‘Where are you?’ He answered, ‘I heard you in the garden, and I was afraid because I was naked; so I hid.'” Genesis 3:9-10

 

In his book, The Transparent Self, Sydney Jourard explains, “When I say that self-disclosure is a means by which one achieves personality health, I mean something like the following: it is not until I am my real self and act my real self that my real self is in a position to grow. One’s self grows from the consequences of being. People’s selves stop growing when they repress them.”

The problem of hiding and repressing one’s true self, feelings and motives goes back to the first man, Adam. When he sinned he felt guilty and exposed, so he hid himself. When God called, “Adam, where are you?” Adam replied, “I…

View original post 437 more words

8 Comments »

  1. Laura said,

    Thank you for sharing. I’ve been in the place where truth needed to set me free. And it did, truly.

    Like

    • Me too Sister! Indeed! Great to hear from you!

      Like

      • Laura said,

        I’ve been out-of-touch with the blogging world lately. Stepping back in this month.

        Like

      • Me too. I have been only in here at rare and random times. I had a lot of problems with my home internet for months, and seem to have become distracted with other things… Funnily enough the Blogosphere seems unusually quieter than I have seen it in my year or so in here. Strange how things work in patterns. Blessings to you!

        Like

      • Laura said,

        And also to you!

        Like

  2. I was unable to read the article.It’s says the blog was suspended.

    Like


Please share your thoughts below...

